Murrow Rocks from 4.8 Earthquake

By: Evander Khan 

The ground was shaking, papers were falling on the floor and students throughout Murrow were screaming for their lives; the school had just survived an earthquake.

On April 5th at 10:23 am, D band, a magnitude 4.8 earthquake rocked the city to its core. 

The epicenter of this quake was in Lebanon,  New Jersey, about 45 miles away from New York City.

Freshman Woods Luis was sitting in room 382 when the tremors started. 

“I was just doing my work and then I felt the earthquake,” said Luis. “Chairs were shaking, tables were shaking, and then I went to the hallways and everyone was just like ‘it’s an earthquake.‘ ”

  “I just thought we’re all gonna die,” she added.

Other students, like sophomore Michelle Chernushenko, were too afraid to return to class.

“I’m scared it’s gonna happen again,” said Chernushenko.

“I was on the first floor,” said Chernushenko. “My folder fell off my desk, I thought the room was possessed.”

Students weren’t the only ones panicked that Friday morning. Teachers like dean Ms. Victoria Wrong were in the cafeteria when everyone suddenly fell silent.

“Everyone just froze,” said Ms. Wrong. “I was just like ‘please don’t let the building collapse.’ ”

Despite the panic, no one was injured during the earthquake as principal Mr. Allen Barge clarified in a school wide email.

“We just had a report of an earthquake that occurred near the NYC area a few moments ago. All is fine and everyone is safe,” said Mr. Barge.

The aftershock from  the earthquake is expected to continue and raddle the area for days.

Although aftershocks were felt in Brooklyn hours after the earthquake, the city is yet to experience anything rivaling the initial tremors that occurred that Friday morning. 

“I’m just glad that nothing happened and all the kids are safe,” said Ms. Wrong.

Other students like junior Olivia Pohl had their concerns elsewhere. “I was really scared for my dog,” said Pohl. 

Sable, Pohl’s dog, had slept through the entire earthquake.

Leave a comment