Seniors Get Revved Up For Murrow Bowl

By Devan Spiro

Let’s get a drumroll for the Murrow Bowl.

It may be a stressful time for seniors as their college applications are ready, but the school’s annual Murrow Bowl helps bring a much needed social break to the school calendar.

The annual tradition began on October 11th. It is planned to end in the spring before senior graduation.

 “I liked everything about Murrow Bowl,” said senior Aedan Alexander Mullen, who is on the Relentless Rebowl team. “I think it’s like a really good way to keep seniors active and involved and like a lot of times people don’t really want to do spirit things.”

Murrow Bowl consists of seniors who can choose to team up with their friends, forming groups of around 10 to 18 people per team. These teams compete on Spirit days and dress-up days. 

Image: A flyer shows the current standings of Murrow Bowl teams.

Teams also have chances to win points during fundraising seasons for donating, and it culminates into the seniors’ March Madness events, which includes Bowlympics or Murrow Senior Field Day.

In the past, students have competed against each other and celebrated their high school accomplishments together through grand events such as scavenger hunts. Each member of the winning team gets an extra ticket for graduation along with a limited-edition Murrow Alumni sweater. 

Ms. Melanie Gacitano, co-Coordinator of Student Activities, said that one way seniors are getting points is that they contributed to the school-wide food drive, which ran from November 1st to November 18th. 

“I donated three cans,” said senior Ally Bris. “There’s a couple other people on my team who donated.” 

Bris said that the Murrow Bowl is off to a competitive start. However, some teams have the upper hand because they have more financial flexibility. 

“It was a little bit unfair because I heard about some other teams with each member bringing in like 40 cans and that set them ahead thousands of points,” said Bris. “Some people just don’t have the luxury to drop like $50 on cans.”

Besides the Food Drive, teams can earn points by participating in a team photo, which is worth 200 points. Those photos are taken on Spirit Day. In addition, teams can earn points if they dress up for Dress Up Day.

 Juan Lucas McCarthy is the captain of Art of Bowls, one of the Murrow Bowl teams and said he’s excited to be a part of the competition.

 “About a day or two before registration closed for teams, a friend told me they were competing and I thought it sounded fun, I heard field day and I was like ‘yeah I’m super down with this’ so I basically just gathered a bunch of people I thought would collaborate well with each other and that’s how Art of Bowls was created,” said McCarthy.

McCarthy said he enjoys being with his fellow teammates in this competition.

“I feel like so far I’ve really gotten to work well with people that I don’t think I would’ve worked well with if it wasn’t a result of the Murrow Bowl,” he said. “I’ve gotten to know people not only on my team but outside of my team and people that I haven’t spoken to and I think that’s really cool about the experience. Going to such a big school I feel like you don’t really get the chance to talk to everybody and I feel like the Murrow Bowl gives students a purpose to speak to each other and sort of get to know each other and have this friendly competition where they get to compete in a friendly and cool way.” 

Leave a comment