Getting Ready for High School: Annual High School Fair Held at Murrow

Photo: Juliana Clark
High school rep from Teachers Preparatory School gives information to middle school student.

By: Allysha Saunders

Families came to learn about prospective high schools Saturday October 14. They went around the first and second floors of Murrow looking around and asking questions about different high schools in Brooklyn.

Middle school student Jemma Kelly said that she was leaning towards

Staten Island Tech and is relatively excited about going to high school next year.

Her mother, Patrice Kelly said that if Jemma went to Staten Island Tech it would be a much easier commute and if she went to Fort Hamilton H.S. her sister would already be there.

“I think there are a lot of opportunities to choose from that benefit both parent and child,” said her mother.

Sofia Schuhbeck, another eighth-grade student, said she is leaning towards Beacon High School and Midwood. She is excited about high school.

“I have always wanted to go to Beacon,” said Sofia. “But if I can’t I at least hope I get into Midwood.”

Photo: Juliana Clark
High school rep shows technology feature at their school.

Doris Diaz said that Transit Tech would be a great choice for her son Sean, it has all the benefits they are looking for in a school although Murrow is a much easier commute.

“I am excited for him to start school,” said Diaz, “and I hope he gets into Transit Tech even though Murrow is closer to home.”

Middle school student Amelia who would not give her last name said that she is looking at Murrow, Madison, and Leon M. Goldstein H.S. She is very excited to go to high school and that this fair is very helpful in helping her make her choice.

“I’ll miss my friends,” said Amelia, “but high school is more freedom, it will be more exciting.”

Alondra who would not give me her last name who is a seventh grader said that she is leaning more to Cobble Hill. Monica, Alondra’s mother, is scared to have her go off to high school but both would be so happy if the child got into Cobble Hill.

“I want to be a lawyer or attorney,” said Alondra. “Cobble Hill is a law school and I believe it will prepare me for the future.”

Leave a comment