Immigrants of Murrow

By: Britney Duval

Murrow, like America, is diverse and has a large immigrant community.

But as we know, being an immigrant isn’t always easy.

Just ask sophomore Narine Andriasova, who moved here from Uzbekistan in June, 2010, and says it has had a big effect on her social life.

“If I wasn’t an immigrant it would have been easier to make friends at a young age and my parents wouldn’t have to struggle with work,” says Andriasova.

Though some feel being an immigrant, or child of an immigrant, makes their life harder some, like junior Melissa Lozada, says she believes it is beneficial to them.

“If my parents weren’t immigrants, I don’t think I would have even been born,” Lozada says. “And if my life had been any different, I don’t think I would like it. I’m happy with the life I have.”

Student teacher Ms. Dafina Qoku, whose parents fled from a war-stricken Albania years ago, says she sympathizes with immigrants who are seeking a new life in this country.

“I’m definitely for people coming to this country, my parents fled from a war-I think laws should allow people to do so,” she said.

Quoku isn’t the only Murrowite that disagrees with President Trump’s views on immigration, Lozada says his policy’s upset her.

“Trump’s ban makes me mad because everyone’s ancestors were once immigrants,” she says. “It does not matter if ones parents were born here. He’s basically telling us that he would want to kick out his ‘immigrant’ ancestors.”

Junior Ka Lye Chan says she is proud of being an immigrant, but admits to being fearful in this political climate.

“If I weren’t an immigrant, I feel that I wouldn’t be in this state of fear yet profound pride in who I am but scared what might happen to me,” she says. “I wouldn’t be in this situation if I were not an immigrant.”

 

Leave a Reply

