Students React to the News of a Future Trump Presidency

By: Amanda Salazar

Each Murrow student who entered the building the day after the election was greeted by the silence of a school in shock.

Just one day after the 2016 Presidential Election, emotions ranged from shock, to uncertainty to even excitement that Donald J. Trump is the 45th President of the United States of America.

“I was surprised by the results because I really thought Hillary had it,” said sophomore Mala Fereday. “I didn’t think Trump was going to win, especially after his performance in the debates. I thought Hillary did a lot better in the debates.”

Some students, like Juliana Clark, still can’t quite wrap their heads around a Trump presidency.

“I am absolutely shocked about the results of the election,” the junior said. “I don’t understand how the people in America could get to this point.”

However, not every Murrow student feels this way. Some students are pleased with the outcome of the election, and with the next president.

“I am very satisfied,” said Joshua Portnoy, a sophomore at Murrow. “I think that would be a good word for the outcome of this election. I’m very happy that he won. He was the better candidate. He had the better plan. Hillary is a liar and a manipulator.”

Other students, Kanadia Lucien, had been expecting this outcome before the votes were even cast.

“I was feeling that Trump would win,” she said. “But I wanted Clinton to win. I do not think that either candidates are fit to be president, but I think Clinton is the better of the two candidates.”

Despite their predictions, many Murrow students are unhappy with the way this year’s election turned out.

“I just think it’s crazy,” said student Ines Chambers. “And I’m not happy about it.”

Social Studies teacher Ms. Erin Hanley only had three words to say about her feelings towards the election.

“Embarrassed, ashamed, disgusted,” she said.

For some Murrowites, even after comparing the two candidates, both who were widely disliked, the thought of Trump winning was still unbelievable.

“It’s a sad day,” stated 11th– grader Julissa Norman. “I don’t know how Donald Trump won. He’s a businessman and will just do for the best of him. He’s a sexist and racist. If people can’t look past Hillary for her wrongs, how can they justify all the things Trump has said throughout his campaign?”

As a Clinton campaign volunteer, Clark said she took the election’s results especially hard.

“From volunteering for Hillary’s campaign, I’ve become very attached to this election,” she explained. “I kept trying to find hope last night while looking at the buildup of the results.”

Junior Elizabeth Cloutier admitted that Trump’s success is taking a toll on her emotionally.

“As soon as he won Florida I started crying,” said Cloutier. “I am so frightened. I don’t think I’ve ever been this scared in my life. I need to process this. I want to be involved in politics in the future, and I’ve never felt this affected by a presidential campaign, especially since both the Congress and Senate are Republican. I think that’s the scariest part.”

Some people have had such negative feelings towards this election and its candidates, that they didn’t even watch the news coverage during election day.

“I actually didn’t watch the election because my husband was at work,” said Costuming teacher, Ms. Allison Galker. “I sent my daughter to bed and I went to sleep at 9:45. I woke up an hour early today and didn’t get out of bed because I didn’t want to find out [who won]. When I found out he won, I cried.”

Members of the LGBTQ+ community at Murrow are worried about how a Trump presidency will affect them and their rights.

“As a gay, genderqueer person, I am legitimately terrified, and sick to my stomach,” said Kay Johnson, a junior. “It’s a heavily Republican Congress, which isn’t a good thing if you’re LGBT. We literally just got the right to be married and go to the bathroom.”

Students are also fearing for minorities living in America, such as blacks and Hispanics.

“Everyone who supported Trump are the kind of people that don’t want to see diversity within this country and I feel like that is the foundation of what is America,” said sophomore Alondra Lopez. “They’re going to feel like they don’t have a voice or say in this country, definitely. They’re going to feel like their opinions don’t matter.”

Some Murrowites are even wondering how their families will be affected by the Trump administration.

“I feel angered that my family will be affected by this,” said student Yaneli Velasquez. “My family in Mexico can barely afford a carton of eggs, and ever since Trump was declared winner the dollar worth went down.”

Portnoy said that he faced a lot of ridicule from his friends and classmates for supporting Trump.

“When Hillary lost in the Javits Center with all the people,” he said. “When I saw the looks on their faces and them crying, I was so happy because of all the Clinton supporters that bully Trump supporters that shame them, that verbally attack them, mentally, and physically. I was so happy that he won and made them [Democrats] feel what they made us feel. “

Principal Mr. Allen Barge spoke about his views of the election as well on Wednesday.

“It’s hard for me to describe my feelings, only because, like most of the country, we’re just processing everything,” said Mr. Barge. “Putting election results aside, I just think seeing 15 months of campaigning and seeing what many people felt was a big surprise, looking at the political pundits analyzing the data and the polls, looking at the voter turnout which was absolutely incredible, I think this election was historic on so many levels.”

Murrow Network staff contributed to this story.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Savanna Torres says:

    Personally, I am very upset. During my F band class on the 10th, 2 days after the election, my math class turned into a venting session. I saw one of my teachers cry and other stsudents crying because of president-elect Donald Trump. They were all upset, angry, and felt lonely. They cried because they are scared for themselves, their families, their friends etc. Hearing that he was our 45th president of the United States, was scary for me. I was scared for my friends and family because I am part of a Latino family and I have people in my family that is part of the LGBTQ community as well. I started second guessing joining the airforce because I didn’t want to fight for someone who is an embarrassment to himself and his country, but I decided that I don’t care if he is an embarrassment or not. I am going to fight for my people and my country if we go to war or not. All I know is that it’s not over. As Americans, we have to stay united and fight.

Leave a Reply

