What Does It Mean To Be An American?

By: Jack Harewood, Annabel Rosario and Lev Katreczko

These Murrow students have a unique perspective  on what it means to be an American and their American identity during the Election year.

_dsc5150-1
Rehnuma Bhuiyan
“I feel lucky to be surrounded by people who are culturally diverse and Murrow is a very culturally diverse place, and just New York City in general. It’s definitely been easy to be accepted and I’ve never really felt like I’ve been singled out. I love talking to people and telling them where I’m from, for example why I wear a hijab and things like that.”

                                                           

Oscar Fung Moving here is different from what some think. There was a lot of learning and teaching of culture and the language living here feels normal now. I have been here since I was three.
Oscar Fung
“Moving here is different from what some think. There was a lot of learning and teaching of culture and the language. Living here feels normal now. I have been here since I was three.”
Corina Levy It’s different. Back in Italy I used to need to bike down the road  to a farm for milk, not down the block to the deli!” Besides some family here most of them are in Italy. I do love New York; there is everything I need here and I couldn’t imagine. living anywhere else in the USA.
Corina Levy
“It’s different. Back in Italy I used to need to bike down the road to a farm for milk, not down the block to the deli! Besides, some family here most of them are in Italy. I do love New York; there is everything I need here and I couldn’t imagine living anywhere else in the USA.”
sami
                                                                     Sami Shaheen                                                                                 “It’s alright [Living in the USA]. There are obviously many problems and being a POC (Person of Color) and queer has been very difficult because of stigmas I would still be given a lot of freedoms I wouldn’t be given in my native country (Bangladesh).”
Dominique Alleyne To be an American means to be created equal despite your heritage, sexuality, race and gender. Everyone should have the same rights.                
Dominique Alleyne
“To be an American means to be created equal despite your heritage, sexuality, race and gender. Everyone should have the same rights.”
Eden Jamil To me America means a country with diversity and freedom to speak and to protest. I feel lucky that I don’t have to live in the Middle East where my family is from and be around all of the terrorism and war there. I feel safe living in America.                                                          
Eden Jamil
“To me America means a country with diversity and freedom to speak and to protest. I feel lucky that I don’t have to live in the Middle East where my family is from and be around all of the terrorism and war there. I feel safe living in America.”
Raquel Simon-Martinez As a first generation Mexican-American, I have found balance in expressing both cultures. I am proud to be of both and represent them. Politically, immigrants are shamed upon.  Trump is constantly belittling Mexicans. The audacity of his statements would intimidate people, but I stand here proud of my culture.
Raquel Simon-Martinez
“As a first generation Mexican-American, I have found balance in expressing both cultures. I am proud to be of both and represent them. Politically, immigrants are shamed upon.  Trump is constantly belittling Mexicans. The audacity of his statements would intimidate people, but I stand here proud of my culture.”
Leave a Reply

